The importance of time in Astrology

Not even two smallest fractions of time element can be said to be similar. Each of them is different. Every fraction of time energises the living beings in the earth in many ways. The existence of planets and their effects on life in earth depends upon time cycle. Time is the force behind the creation and destruction of every organism in the cosmos.

Time is classified into 9 types namely

  • Brahmam
  • Divyam
  • Pithryam
  • Prajāpathyam
  • Gauravam
  • Souram
  • Savanam
  • Chhandram
  • Arkham
Day and night calculations, the holy periods of Shadhasheethi and Vishnupathi and Dakshiāyaa and Uttarāyaa period are reckoned with the help of Souramānam.
One lunar month contains thirty days from Prathipādam to Amāvāsya. The daily rotation of the stellar sphere makes one star day. A Savana Day is of 60 Ghatis duration from one sunrise to the next sunrise. Thus, 360 Savana days form a Savana year. 365.25 days make a solar year (Souravarsham). Kalpa is one year of Lord Brahma and is equal to our 4,32,00,00,000 years.
There are four Yugas, namely:
1. Krutha or Satya = 17, 28,000 human years
2. Thretha = 12,96,000 human years
3. Dwāparam = 8, 64,000 human years
4. Kali = 4,32,000 human years
These four Yugās together form the Mahāyuga which spans 4,320,000 years. The Kali Yuga is believed to have begun in 3102 BC.
The following are some of the important factors that help calculate time:
1 vighati = 24 seconds
2.5 vighati = 1 minute
60 vighati = 1 ghati = 24 minutes
2.5 ghati = 1 hour
60 ghati = 24 hours = 1 day
7 days = 1 week
2 weeks = A fortnight (Paksha) (It has been divided into Krishnapaksha and Suklapaksha)
2 paksha = 1 month
2 months = 1 season
6 months = 1 ayana
2 ayanams = 1 Year
There are 12 months – Chaithram, Vaishākham, Jyeshtham, Āshādham, Srāvanam, Bhādrapadam, Āśwēyujam, Kārthikam, Mārgaśiram, Pushyam, Māgham and Phālguam.
There are 6 seasons – Spring, Summer, Monsoon, Autumn, Winter and Late Autumn.
There are 2 Ayanas – Dakshiāyaa and Uttarāyaa
One lunar day is called Tithi.
There are 15 tithis in one paksha. They are the following:
Pradhama, Dwithiya, Thrithiya, Chathurthi, Panchami, Shashti, Sapthami, Ashtami, Navami, Daśami, Ekādaśi, Dwādaśi, Thrayodaśi, Chathurdaśi, Amāvāsya / Pourami.
The science of astrology helps a person to make his life easier and peaceful in the face of an unknown future. Astrology gives a clue regarding the various experiences one may go through in life.
Astrology has roots in the firm belief in pre-birth virtues and vices, re-birth etc. Every living being experiences the fruits of his actions, which could be the results of this birth or previous birth. The horoscope helps to get an insight into the actions of previous births. One may go through the effect of a vicious action in the previous birth in this life. With the help of astrology we can foresee such instances and take remedial measures.
The importance of time in Astrology
Article Name
The importance of time in Astrology
Importance of time - Not even two smallest fractions of time element can be said to be similar. Each of them is different. Every fraction of time energies the living beings in
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo


A passionate poet, story writer, tech gig, music & movie lover. A little artist, who loves to do some sketches, paintings, photography and graphics design/illustration! And all above things I do in spare time, as a full time I am a web developer.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − 6 =