Role and Importance of Planets in Astrology

In previous post we learn about basic details about planets, now moving forward to role and importance of planets in our Astrology. Changes you see in your life, personality you show, behavior you reveal, and image you establish is all because of planetary movement and positions of planets in your horoscope. As per Vedic Astrology, all planets and shadowy planets occupy some position or bhav in our birth-chart and this way they really influence our lives. There are seven planets Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn including two shadowy planets or nodes Rahu and Ketu in Astrology which shapes our auspicious or inauspicious period of life. All they planets have vivid roles and characteristics.

Sun (Surya)

Sun is the prominent planet in both Astrology and Solar System. Sun is also regarded as one of the important deities of Hindus. Surya, Bhaskar, Arun, and Ravi are some prestigious names of lord Sun. Sun is benefic planet in astrology but can become malefic if occupy any unfavorable position in horoscope. Favorable placement of Sun in a horoscope brings fame and power to a person in all areas including the field of occupation. It has power to grant great political power. Adverse placement can make a person arrogant.

Moon (Chandra)

Moon is second planet in astrology after sun and a benefic, feminine planet. In solar system, it is nearest planet and natural satellite of earth. Moon is also an asymmetrical, humid and cold planet. Zodiac sign Cancer is governed by planet Moon. In horoscope, it is also an influencing planet. Positive Moon indicates joy, enthusiasm and peace of mind in life while negative or afflicted moon causes tensions, depression, suicidal tendency and pessimistic attitude.

Mars (Mangal)

Mars is ruler planet of Zodiac signs Aries and Scorpio. So people born under this zodiac signs get influenced by planet Mars. Mars is considered malefic but for Cancer and Leo ascendant, this becomes Yogkaraka and bestows the native with prosperity and wealth. Planet Mars is dry, masculine, and fiery planet. Mars also plays pivotal role in shaping one’s life good or bad depending upon its occupied position in horoscope. Planet Mars is said to be the God of force, energy, dispute, destruction and war.

Mercury (Budh)

Intellectual, Ingenious, Convertible, Dualistic, Mutable, and feminine ‘Planet Mercury’ is very near to Sun and one of the four terrestrial & inner planets in the Solar system. It is both benefic and malefic planet by its nature depending upon its occupied house in one’s horoscope or zodiac sign and linkage with other planets. Mercury is dual nature planet and governs two zodiac signs namely Gemini and Virgo. Body parts that are ruled by Mercury are the arms, ear, lungs and nervous system.  “Atharvanan Veda (Hindu Scripture)”, “Sharat Rithu or October and November”, and the “color green” are governed by this planet.

Jupiter (Guru)

The Symbol of Wisdom, the God of righteousness and of Justice is none other than ‘Planet Jupiter’ or Brihaspati Grah. Various mythology and religious beliefs are allied with planet Jupiter. This planet is believed to be the “Lord of Prayers and Devotion” and “Mentor of Gods or Deities”. Venus is enemy to this Planet and they are calm with each other only in heavens. It is one among the seven classical planets that can even be seen with our naked eyes. Planet Jupiter is main ruling planet for the children, which is seen as a factor or signficator (‘Karak’) whenever considering about children. Where as in the horoscope of a woman, Jupiter is the signficator (Karak) of his husband and happy married life. If posited in favorable position, it ensures happy relations in married life.

Venus (Shukra)

Is your zodiac sign is Taurus or Libra? If it is, you’re governed and mostly influence by luminous planet Venus. In Astrology, Venus is 6th planet and 2nd planet from Sun in solar system. Venus is feminine, brightest planet and is also regarded to be the goddess of Love, marriage, beauty, music, dance and recreations sources. This is also known as Morning Star and can be easily recognized when seen in the north direction early in the morning.

Saturn (Shani)

Planet Saturn or Shani Grah is 7th planet in astrology. Zodiac signs Capricorn and Aquarius are governed by planet Saturn. Benefic Saturn influences fortunate events in life where Malefic Saturn bring inauspicious occurrence and delays in life. Benefic Saturn makes person faithful, honest and sincere. But, Malefic Saturn cause disputes, delays and disharmony in life. This way this planet is both benefic and malefic for us. Saturn is also cold, protective, invariable and inexplicable planet. The slow transit of this planet offers two important common periods namely Sadhe Sati and Dhaiya. Every person undergoes the period of Sadhe Sati and Dhaiya many a times in his life.


In Astrology, Rahu is considered to be a ‘Node’, ‘Chayagrah or Shadowy planet which has a distinct, profound and predictable impact on human lives. Although Rahu is not an observable heavenly boRahu Ketudy with shape and size like other planets but has a strong influencing power. Rahu does not own any zodiac sign. In Hindu Mythology, Dragon’s head represents Rahu. Rahu governs one’s ego, anger, mentality, lust, and liquor-habit. Rahu also governs robbery, black magic, and awry activities of life. Adverse influence of Rahu can make one a completely brutal, and violent. Rahu is also significator for hidden money, gambling, fatality, and darkness. Rahu in one’s natal chart with good position indicates a long journey. RahuKal or the time period under the influence of Rahu is very unsuspicious period and results acute negative events in life. Other evil act of Rahu that is often mentioned is that he swallows Sun and Moon and thus causes solar eclipses to spread darkness.


In Astrology, Ketu is also said to be a ‘Node’, ‘Chayagrah or Shadowy planet like Rahu, as it has no mass shape or substance and is not verified by visual observation. In Hindu Mythology, Kethu represents dragon’s tail. This Chayagrah is also malefic and cruel in nature. Kethu has celestial points on the Zodiac, with regulated movement and orbit and that it has a distinct and predictable influence on horoscope. Ketu is planets known for spirituality. The person influenced by the planet is gifted with spiritual achievements. His other interests also show his bent towards religious and secret awareness including supernatural powers and ghost related subjects.

All planets rule some particular zodiac sign and govern specific materials or things on earth. For example, Sun rules zodiac sign Leo and shower meritorious blessings on person born under zodiac sign Leo if benefic. Whatever traits are appeared in person are results of influence of particular planet.

Both malefic and benefic effects the all planets show depending their positions and conjunctions with other planet in horoscope. There are twelve houses or Bhav in our horoscopes which are occupied by some planets. Read all possible details given here about all planets and nodes in astrology.

Role and Importance of Planets in Astrology
Article Name
Role and Importance of Planets in Astrology
In previous post we learn about basic details about planets, now moving forward to role and importance of planets in our Astrology.
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo


A passionate poet, story writer, tech gig, music & movie lover. A little artist, who loves to do some sketches, paintings, photography and graphics design/illustration! And all above things I do in spare time, as a full time I am a web developer.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × 4 =